Elliaison.org - Forum
Elliaison.org forum is a free discussion group focused on the persuit of truth and spiritual knowledge from every source.

Home » Calling and Election Made Sure » How You Received Your Calling and Election Made Sure » My Experiences with the Lord (Experiences in and out of the church)
My Experiences with the Lord [message #3832] Tue, 28 April 2020 14:56 Go to next message
john144 is currently offline  john144
I have had a lot of experiences with the Lord over my life, and although I didn't realize it at the time, looking back, He has been very involved with my development.

I was raised in a part-member family. My dad wasn't a member. My mom was inactive. I used to walk a mile up the hill to the bishop's house so I could read all the church books. Couldn't get enough. He also had a Swedish book. I learned the language of my ancestors before I ever got my call to Sweden, so in a way, I was able to choose my field of labor. When I was a priest, I baptized my dad. On the day that I was married in the temple, our family got sealed together, then my wife and I got married, then she and I were sealed by proxy for my dad's parents.

When I was set apart for my mission, Elder LeGrand Richards said something in his prayer that he never said to any of the other elders. He asked the Lord to bless me in the eternal worlds for all my sacrifices, and said to the Lord, referring to me, "this try true servant". This is what I have always tried to be all my life.

At BYU, our bishop who had received his second comforter told us what we would need to see the Lord. I did everything he said, and shortly afterward, I saw the Lord in a dream. Later in life, when I was divorced, excommunicated, and my life hit rock bottom, I pledged myself to the Lord and his service, asking nothing in return, but only to be led by Him and Him alone.